Skip to content

no room for hipsters

the occupation of Ashley and Levon

[ from a. addair who is listening to Son of a Khrusty Musical (Son of a Khrusty Muscial) ]

hanging is only scary when you're small. acrylic on canvas. 36"x36"

Lately, my experiences have been ones that I can’t intellectualize; death of loved ones, the possibility and consequences of having children, and wondering how the best way to spend days that string together to form a lifetime.  I’ve come to the end of my reasoning and, for sanity’s sake, I’m just taking things a morning, afternoon, and evening at a time.  I’m trying to be quiet enough that I can hear the thing that I feel I should/want/could do and then without much angst just do the thing and trust that someone knows the bigger picture, even if it isn’t me.

Each moment in time is like a little space of line that I have the opportunity to drape color on.

detail

I might be able to recall what the last few colors were, but I have no idea of the direction of the line and am unable to see the entirety of the composition made by the history and projection of the line.

In short (and inevitably incompletely), this painting is an abstraction of time.  It is (in part) a way for me to internalize, to get ideas into my body, and to relax into what is already there.  It is a thinking process that is teaching me to hang my colors boldly and with humility because that is really all I’m qualified to do.  Or, to step out of the metaphor, I’m learning to simply be kind, love recklessly, paint, take walks, and eat well; just do what humans do and let the drama of existence circulate.

Those were my thoughts as I set out to create the painting.  But what I love about making art is that through the making, I get surprised by realizing there is more there than I have the capacity to understand.

As I was painting this, I realized how apt it is that the half circle shaped “flags” are created by being painted on a sheet of plastic, and once dry, getting peeled off the plastic and glued to the canvas.  In essence, they we’re created in one context, and given meaning in another.

detail

Just after application, these little half-circle-shaped flags looked discordant and unsettling until they went through the process of becoming a painting.  It was my job, as the creator, to make the jumble cohesive or somehow satisfying and meaningful through the layering and adjustment of color, texture and line.

In the end, the painting is a God’s-eye view.  A hopeful reassurance to myself that it is my simple objective to hang my momentary color flags with honesty and relish, but someone else’s to give it context and ultimate worth.

detail

A step further into the metaphor (and a little joke the painting played on me) is that I painted the piece “upside down” from the way it is oriented here.  It wasn’t until the last moments of working on it that I realized it was meant to be viewed the way it is pictured.  Fitting.  Even when we think we know or are learning something, chances are, our view is distorted, foggy, or almost right, but still upside down.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

