Skip to content

no room for hipsters

the occupation of Ashley and Levon

Suddenly, everything can change.  News arrives that becomes the only news.  We were at the border of Texas, buying groceries for the bus, and got a phone call. 

An immediate family member has had an emergency and will need an operation in four days.  My immediate response was to turn around.   But if it were me, I would tell someone to keep going.  One’s faith and principles make for complicated decisions.  Most of all we are concerned for someone else and don’t much like having to consider our situation at all. 

I hesitate to write at all about any of this.  It’s hard to decipher what to share, but writing helps me clarify my thoughts.

One thing I constantly repeat to myself is not to base decisions on fear.  I’m looking to do the right thing: lining up my values, then listing my alternatives.   In that order.  As a person of faith, I believe that God is working.  There is never a reason not to be there for someone, and we come first to each other, before what we want for each other.  We want to go back to Tennessee today.

There will be a good report, and we will start again.  We plan to make the wedding in Mexico, we get to be a part of the ceremony.

