Skip to content

no room for hipsters

the occupation of Ashley and Levon

[ from a. addair who is listening to The Flaming Lips (Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots) ]

Went to a lecture this week by a few artists from Brooklyn.  I mostly loved it.  And also thought about how I am glad that I don’t live in Brooklyn and then I thought (again) about the function of place in art.  Some quotes:

“I think the impulses behind art might be the same impulses that send wolves and sparrows and toads wandering”  –Peter Steinhart

“I told myself your land–your fatherland–is all round.  I must continue to follow the path I take now.  Keep going, keep going, come what may.  But what is the final goal, you may ask.  That goal will become clearer, will emerge slowly but surely, much as the draft turns into sketch and the sketch into the painting, through serious work done on it.”  –Vincent Van Gogh

Which leads me to my final thought.  As is common at art lectures, the conversation turned maybe just a tad highfalutin which is stimulating and also bothersome.  I ignored the bothersome part but then Emily reminded me, as a good, critical thinking artist friend should.  And so now I’m thinking about the the relevancy and point of art-making in a horribly broken world where people starve and get murdered. But instead of getting lost in the messy construction site of my reason and logic I will seek the goal through “serious [art making] work done on it”.

*hipster

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

