Skip to content

no room for hipsters

the occupation of Ashley and Levon

[ from a. addair who is listening to Brooklyn Rider (Dominant Curve) ]

Recently I was asked to submit a sketch for a proposed painting.  I knew right away that translating brush strokes and color to pencil would be difficult but I agreed, feeling that the stretch would only help me to grow.  After a few days of thinking about how I might approach this task, I realized that I couldn’t produce a sketch of a thing that did not yet exist and that could only exist through the one time process of actually and fully being made.

With my new insight, I wrote in to say that I was unable to provide this sketch and yet after several more days, I found that the circumstance had yet to be resolved within my interior.  I felt doubt and wondered if this intuitive approach was only a disguise for an  ill-prepared, unprofesssional, feeble, and visionless artist.

But then I began to read The Undressed Art by Peter Steinhart; he writes about drawing but I think that his words can be applied to painting or any other creative medium when he says that a work of art is, “not the representation of  a fully developed conception already in the artist’s head.  When you draw you see parts of the vision, and you may see them emerge only gradually and in unexpected ways.  Development of a drawing is unpredictable.  Says psychologist Peter Van Sommers, ‘Artists can almost be likened to spectators of the cumulative efforts of their own actions'”.

I am understanding that painting, for me, is a way of processing information and ingesting experience. As a result, at the conclusion of a painting I am a changed person because the time spent doggedly looking out and looking in has redefined my thought patterns.  I’m beginning to notice that every painting is a practice at learning and making new connections.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

