Skip to content

no room for hipsters

the occupation of Ashley and Levon

[ from a. addair who is listening to Why Are We Building Such a Big Ship? ]

I’m learning that this life is not about prettiness, not about safety, not about comfort.  But it is for beauty, for love, and for working toward justice and peace.

album cover for levon's new CD, it will be completed next week with a release date soon to follow

I think of The Grapes of Wrath when the Joad’s finally find work picking peaches.  Their elation is quickly dampened when they enter the camp because they do so through crowds of hungry eyes and of anger held quiet only by the threat of violence.  After a few dismal days at the worker’s camp they learn what the people crowding the gates have already discovered: they are mere pawns in a system of exploitation.

When I think of their story I ache with indignity and wish them the strength to rise out of desperation to say, “I don’t know how I’ll eat, but I’m not picking your peaches.”  That they would somehow be willing to enter a hungry, weighted joy because their lifeblood, though it may not flow easy or with comfort, is worthwhile and beautiful.  I wish for their sacrifice to be affirmed because in love and in this life there is meaning.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

