Skip to content

no room for hipsters

the occupation of Ashley and Levon

[ from a. addair who is listening to The Flaming Lips (At War With The Mystics) ]

Wondering how I would spend my time differently if I didn’t need to get paid for the things that I do.  It is pretty likely that I’ll never actually need to/get to answer this question.  But still, it gets to the heart of some real confusion for me.

I keep thinking of Thoreau when he wrote, “A man had better starve at once than lose his innocence in the process of getting bread.”

I’m struggling with the way art (and the artist who lives from his art) functions justly in our culture and economic system.

why am i showing you this painting? because i want to share it? because i hope you'll like it and maybe buy art from me? slimy.

I don’t want to be a part of the hype.  I don’t want it to be all about me.  I don’t want to be a propagate consumerism.

I’m not certain that how I’m currently operating (even keeping this blog) is good and pure, but I feel stuck.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

