Skip to content

no room for hipsters

the occupation of Ashley and Levon

We are so close to our beloved Knoxville that we can hear the sounds.  Ashley and I have moved to Bristol, TN to begin a major project with her dad, opening a ride shop.  He and my brother-in-law, Dustin in Virginia Beach design board graphics for snowboards and skateboards, plus a clothing line.  This will be well documented here in the coming weeks, for now we are peering into windows with lease signs and making orders.  Ashley is sketching artistic directions and I am building Quickbook files and financial reports.  It is a true family operation.

So when we heard that the Dirty Guv’nahs were playing in the nearby tri-city of East Tennessee, Johnson City, well…  It kind of seemed like we should stroll over there.

The Dirty Guv'nahs at Capone's, Johnson City Tennessee

A year ago I would have said that the Guvs were my favorite band out of Knoxville, but they’ve been blowing up a bit since then.  It feels like I no longer need to give them a locality, even though they proudly hail from Knoxville.  The Dirty Guv’nahs are releasing their third album this summer, recorded in Woodstock, NY with Levon Helm.  They are soon to embark on a “Sailing Southern Ground” tour with the Zac Brown Band around Florida and the Grand Caymans.  It’s a rock-n-roll success story.  Here’s a Paste Magazine interview that says a lot more.

I stood among 500 people in a town that was not my own, and heard a sold out crowd singing every word to my hometown band.  That’s a proud moment.

the dirty guv’nahs

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

