Skip to content

no room for hipsters

the occupation of Ashley and Levon

[ from addair who is listening to Diana Krall (The Girl in the Other Room) ]

time is neither hopeful nor forlorn. it is an assemblage. (detail)

Finally, I feel that I’m making progress in painting for the show.  The first one in the series (pictured here) is about hope versus hopelessness.  I approached the question through MLK’s conception of time.   In his Letter from Birmingham Jail he writes, “…time itself is neutral; it can be used either destructively or constructively”.

time is neither hopeful nor forlorn. it is an assemblage.

More times than not studying history, I’ve become discouraged.  It seems that we are doomed to fail; that idealism reeks of naïvety, good eventually corrupts, and violence is inevitable.  Often I’ve felt that it’s hopeless and whatever I manage to do will is insignificant anyway.  I’ve been tempted to quit because I thought time must be charged with doom and marching toward destruction.  Cynical I know, but it seems that even in confident climates we lounge toward apathy.  In more optimistic eras people have been immobolized by the “strangely irrational notion that there is something in the very flow of time that will inevitably cure all ills”.

time is neither hopeful nor forlorn. it is an assemblage. (detail)

It seems to me that there is something rather valid and true in MLK’s notion.  And though it comes with great responsibility, it is a relief.  Our time is hopeful or hopeless depending on us, our actions, our work, and our creativity.

time is neither hopeful nor forlorn. it is an assemblage. (detail)

As in all of my painting, I’m most interested in the question.  I don’t pretend to ever get it right but I am aiming to become “progressively less wrong” (Paul Grobstein).  Here is a painting in which I swam in the unknown and painted my perception of time (rather ambitious, I know – but “the time is always ripe” to venture).

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

