Skip to content

no room for hipsters

the occupation of Ashley and Levon

[ from addair who is listening to Ian Brown (Solarized) ]

I’ve craved solitude for a while now and I’ve been partly fulfilled.  During the day I have a house to myself and I’ve been able to get some work done.  I paint in the mornings; music on before the sun comes up and cleaning out my brushes before it peaks in the sky.  That feels good. 

Now that it’s the weekend I feel a bit restless.  Weekends are for playing but I don’t have anyone to play with.  I find that when Levon isn’t around I do things that he doesn’t enjoy as much as I do.  I’ve got a habit of wanting to be around him.  With a sort of love for happenstance, a lot of the time I let him navigate our playing.  And then every 6 months or so I find myself  mauling for control and being obstinate when things don’t go my way.  I suppose I haven’t learned balance yet. 

And so for the past few days I’ve  reveled in doing the things we normally do, but at the frequency and schedule of my choosing.  This has been agreeable.  I feel like my previously empty tank is sloshing around with whatever it is that keeps me okay.  And I’m learning to  respect and value our differences and to love our dependence on one another (its taken me a full 7 years to warily approach and incompletely relax in this last part).

levon took the camera and computer so i'm making do with a picture i found on the internet. but i think its appropriate. levon is there but not there and i am thinking.

 I’m thinking of taking a trip to Nashville after I post this.  It is a good city with an art museum The Frist in the old post office I love)  and a pleasant park for walking (Centennial Park, though it will make me miss Kaylay the dog).  Also I need some more canvas and there is an art supply store there.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

