Skip to content

no room for hipsters

the occupation of Ashley and Levon

(from addair)

The themes for tonight’s show are transcendence, fullness, and connection.  I’m really grateful that it isn’t religion, though with a name like Spirit, the connection will undoubtedly be made.

I think it’s healthy to reexamine pretty well everything periodically, and so I make myself read all sorts of things.  This morning I read Reason in Exile by Sam Harris.  He argues that all religions (even in moderate doses) are potential sources of irrationality and brutality.  And I suppose he has history on his side.  But he also writes that, “There is no denying that most of us have spiritual needs that a mere understanding of our world, scientific or otherwise, will never fulfill.  There is clearly a sacred dimension to our existence and coming to terms with it could well be the highest purpose of human life.”  I like that, from his perspective, these opinions are not in conflict with one another.

a painting exploring these thoughts

a painting exploring these thoughts

For this morning, I have no further comment.  But I’m looking forward to getting out of my own head on the subject.  Spirit : Illuminate the Intangible/View the Invisible, tonight at 7pm.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

