Skip to content

no room for hipsters

the occupation of Ashley and Levon

(from addair)

“When Americans hunger for selfless love and are fed only love of self, they will remain hungry, and too often hungry people  just come back for more of the same.”     –Bill McKibben

I get into swings of discontent on a pretty regular rhythm.  There are lots of causes for this, not all of them necessarily bad, but I think they generally coincide with seasons when I’ve become fixated on myself–self-improvement, self-esteem, self-reflection–it comes in a few flavors.  It’s a pretty easy thing to do, and our culture produces a beat that is just right for locking into the song of self.

latest painting.  it doesnt have a name yet, but its explores these thoughts.

latest painting. it doesnt have a name yet, but its explores these thoughts.

I don’t expect to totally escape this struggle, but I am ready for a radical reordering.  I’m ready to depart from my selfishness in a way I’ve yet to brave.  I believe that we are capable of nothing short of a revolution and I think the time is now.  I’m ready to see just how far I will fight for justice.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

