Skip to content

no room for hipsters

the occupation of Ashley and Levon

pictures we like: by Dustin

pictures we like: by Dustin

I do.  That’s one way to feel smug as a local amidst the tourists.  Carry a binder and act like your selling something.

The monotonous details of the job search I keep to myself, but there was a story worth sharing today.  My beach cruiser and I were headed down the oceanfront boardwalk going in all the bars and seafood places again, hoping to catch a manager in need that didn’t feel like thumbing their stack of applications.

pictures we like: by Dustin

pictures we like: by Dustin

That was when I passed a big shiny Bank of America.  Should I do it?  I had my reasons to leave my 8 year career track in finance, but I’m a lot hungrier now than I was then.

But in front of the big glass doors my pant leg caught in the chain of my cruiser.  Hobbling on one tippy toe I leaned over and made my first mistake: I tried to pull the chain away from the wheel.  The bike slid forward, pinching my index finger in the wheel.  I panicked.  Now I was stuck, bent over on one tippie toe, with both my right hand and foot caught in the bike.

I grabbed a fistful of greasy chain and pulled hard, but there is no slack in a fixed gear cruiser chain.  The bike rolled forward and ate my middle finger, too.  I was about to cry.  I tried to push the pedal back with the heel of my stuck foot and was successful only in a brake check.  I paused: I prayed.  I pushed the pedal back again and the wheel somehow released me.  My hand was covered in grease and bleeding.

My stupid leg was still stuck and I disgustedly kicked it hard enough to just rip the pants.  I looked into my reflection in the big shiny glass doors and wondered of my audience.  I tucked my pant leg in my sock and rode three feet.  Then I stopped.

Nope, I rolled my pant leg up to my calf instead and fixed my sock.  Glad that was over.

pictures we like: Dustin and Cortney

pictures we like: Dustin and Cortney

Tags: , , , , , ,

