Skip to content

no room for hipsters

the occupation of Ashley and Levon

 

my apartment view

my apartment view

 

 

A week from today we’ll be living the other extreme of our city existence.  Working on the farm in Virginia.  For now I’m spending every minute writing songs and trying to perfect the newest ones.  There are many of them, like six little kids running around and I have to remember what all of them are up to.  I’ve never written this many songs in such a short period of time.  The Neil Young saying, to write a song everyday and throw it back if its not good, I never listened to.  But now that I’ve written one everyday for a while, I’m terrified that I’m going to wake up tomorrow and realize that one was only a nice exercise.  

Ashley and I joked today that we should take week long sabbaticals from each other more often.  Only weeklong, and only to be alone in our heads long enough to pull everything in there trying to get out.  She’ll be back in two days and I’m tired of wrestling in my head.  

I took a walk around Harlem tonight and tried to freeze frame what is familiar to me now.  This experience will be something I’ll never forget, but I only have the next few days to actually be here and determine what I walk away with.     

 

let's apartment

let's apartment

Tags: , ,

