Skip to content

no room for hipsters

the occupation of Ashley and Levon

(from ashley)

As much as my fiercely independent disposition hates to admit it, I depend on Levon.  We’ve been apart for 11 days, the longest period in five years, and I’m realizing just how much of my daily act of living intertwines with his. 

Humans are relational beings, and though I don’t pretend to wholly understand why or how this came to be, I believe it is the way we were made.  We all crave intimacy.

Of course authentic fellowship can be experienced in platonic relationships and outside of marriage but for me, I’ve needed a publicly acknowledged promise.

last year's anniversary

last year's anniversary

I’m self sufficient enough (or so I think) that when conflict arises and vulnerability is called for, I prefer to simply move on rather than work for true communion. 

Being married has helped me to experience life intensely and amply because it has required that I stay long enough for authenticity to become essential. 

Though being in relationship with Levon has been one of the most challenging acts of my life, it has also been one of the most edifying.  I’ve experienced enough genuine friendship to understand that it is worth the effort.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

