Skip to content

no room for hipsters

the occupation of Ashley and Levon

(from ashley)

In Knoxville, we had a lovely community garden and a whole neighborhood of earth-loving, community-minded friends (www.oldnorthknoxville.org).  Lindsay is one of these friends, and knowing the shock that my new habitat would bring she decided to get me a CSA (community supported agriculture) membership for my birthday. It is an incredibly thoughtful gift and one that prompted me to do a little research.  I’ll share a bit about what I learned.  

CSA is a network that helps to support family farms (generally struggling), while providing city dwellers with access to quality, locally grown, affordable food.  The initiative is targeted for low-income families so the networks accept food stamps, work shares, and sliding scale fees.

Farmers (Tom and Jan Blomgren in my case) sell shares to individuals, families, and institutions.  This money goes toward growing and transporting a season’s worth of produce and a living wage for the farmer.

vegetable love

vegetable love

There are several distribution sites on Manhattan, I decided to join one in the East Village in an effort to establish ties in the area I hope to live (maybe I’ll meet someone with an apartment to rent).  The vegetable shares were all sold out, but I signed up for the fruit which I like better anyway.  The first pick up is June 9 and from then until mid November I can count on a weekly variety of seasonal fruits.

In addition to access to high quality fruit, I’m looking forward to joining the community.  Just from their blog (stantonstreetcsa.wordpress.com) I’ve learned about some of the environmental and social justice issues unique to New York City (working to make beekeeping legal within the city and serving local, high-quality foods in schools).

Onward to berries and a thank you note to Lindsay.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

