Skip to content

no room for hipsters

the occupation of Ashley and Levon

(from ashley)

 Yesterday was grim and taxing but my friends and family were there to pluck me out of despondency.  And a sweet southern wind found its way to Harlem.  First, Levon saw a double rainbow on his way home from work.  He said that it was so incredible, the natives smiled.  When he couldn’t get his metro card to work, someone swiped theirs for him.  Oh man(sometimes you are)kind.

Then a Knoxvillian friend (in the city for a visit) wanted to give me an early birthday gift that would lighten my heart. Being the intuitive friend that she is, she took me to MoMA (www.moma.org).

My favorite exhibit was Tangled Alphabets: Leon Ferrari and Mira Schendel (http://moma.org/visit/calendar/exhibitions/299). I’ve been especially interested in lines and this exhibit was startlingly  inspirational.

And of then of course there were floors of MoMA ‘s permanent collection.

Let viewing Duchamp's Bicycle Wheel

Let viewing Duchamp's Bicycle Wheel

 

Let viewing Matisse's The Red Studio

Let viewing Matisse's The Red Studio

 

Let viewing Picasso's Les Demoiselles

Let viewing Picasso's Les Demoiselles

 

Let viewing Kahlo's Fulang-Chang and I

Let viewing Kahlo's Fulang-Chang and I

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

