Skip to content

no room for hipsters

the occupation of Ashley and Levon

Even though I can’t be with you today,

I find you in New Yorkian ways

 

in the dogwood by our building because of your sweet southern laugh

in the dogwood by our building because of your sweet southern laugh

 

the way the flower vendors brighten up 5th Avenue

in the way the flower vendors brighten up 5th Avenue

 

in how I feel reassured when I talk to you

in the way a gate reassures

 

in how you taught me what I needed to know

in the nearby school because you taught me so well

 

in your honkin loud mouth

in the taxi cabs because you always pick me up

in how you say dream big

in the park view because you say to dream

 

IMG_2697

in the pedestrian signs because you help me figure the way to go

in how I could always look up to you

in the tall buildings because I look up to you

in how you were my escape

in a front stoop because you are a place to rest

 

in how you build me up

in the steps to the top because you say to go for it (even when it gets hard)

 

I can find you here or right by your side,

Because your love is far and wide.

 

Happy Mother’s Day

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

