Skip to content

no room for hipsters

the occupation of Ashley and Levon

(from ashley)

This weekend we made our way down to Union Square to do some research for my upcoming adventures in selling art on the street.  There we found some happy surprises.  First, I got some ideas about the best way to transport and set up my table and art.  I plan to be ready by next weekend and am really looking forward to trying it out.  I’m sure it will be a game of heuristics; taking some time to figure out good spots and peak hours.

first in a series on woodblocks...coming soon to street corner near you

first in a series on woodblocks...coming soon to street corner near you

 

Second, we acquainted ourselves with some local vendors selling food and plants.  I’m not yet in the market for purchasing, but the nice people at Eves Cidery (www.evescidery.com) let me sample their cider.  Delicious.  Maybe I’ll celebrate with a bottle after I sell my first painting off the street.

Finally, and my most exciting find: a compost drop off spot.  The Lower East Side Ecology Center (LESecologycenter.org) provides several gardens sites to collect public compost.  Eventually, I’d like to set up  a vermicomposting bin, but until then, I have a place to take all my tea bags.

As I walked around the square, my brother was creating a master piece – as he generally does.  We found this waiting in our inbox when we got home.

by dustin addair

by dustin addair

He’s my hero.

Tags: , , , , , ,

