Skip to content

no room for hipsters

the occupation of Ashley and Levon

(from ashley)

I prefer simple living,  an existence that allows me the time to paint, to visit people on the front porch, and to be connected with the earth’s rythyms.  I’m not into the acquisition of money unless it is a by-product of doing what I would do anyway, and I cringe at the thought of using my gains to perpetuate the hollow jabber of consumption.

I believe that anyone can choose to live simply, no matter where they live, but New York City is complicating my efforts.  My newest habitat has me thinking about both my own responsibility and city-scale efforts toward sustainability and quality.  For myself, I have to struggle to reduce my need to peddle time for money and steadfastly  commit to habits that now chafe.

adapting

adapting

 

 As for the city, I read an article in Dwell magazine (dwell.com) featuring Richard Rogers, an architect commited to recreating and enriching urban life. He proposes “remaking the city to frame what humans should really be.”  So that design “encourages, even necessitates a different way of living in the city”   He re-imagines a new type of urban civilization – “one that is not only healthier, but also culturally and environmentally sustainable so that living somewhere becomes pursuing something together”.img_2595

Can we vote him president of the globe?

In my first days here, I’ve been sensitive to the design faults of the city that make life thorny and complicated.  But I’ve also been overwhelmed with its strength of diversity and its concentration of incredible minds and talent.  

First impressions and my single opinion are only worth so much, but I hope that I have the opportunity to swim in the energy of what I believe is a necessary shift toward an urban space that motivates health, relaxation, conservation, and justice.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

