Skip to content

no room for hipsters

the occupation of Ashley and Levon

(from ashley)

Today is quite a happy day because: 1. I got voted runner-up as Knoxville’s best local artist (“who doesn’t paint landscapes with deer”) http://www.metropulse.com/best-of-knoxville/2009/full-list/.   Thanks Knoxville, I love you.   And 2. I got our room settled.

my work desk (most of the space will be used as my studio - thanks levon)

my work desk (most of the space will be used as my studio - thanks levon)

1241 Armstrong was decidedly more funky than our new home.  In this season, I don’t need a stimulating environment as much as I need a calm retreat, familiarity, and a clear space.  

the easel's corner

the easel's corner

the view

the view

Our roommate, LB http://www.myspace.com/sheslb is new to the apartment too, so she’s been nesting as well.  I contributed with a wall painting.

charcoal and acrylic on plaster

charcoal and acrylic on plaster

 And one final bit of news.  We have our first update to Our Objects Project.

see the figure in the window?

see the figure in the window?

Mom and I traveled to Madisonville, Kentucky to attend my bridal shower in 2004.  On the way back to Virginia Beach we traveled through Shelbyville, Tennessee (famous for horse competitions).  On that little piece of interstate my Aunt Bobby Anne (who once told me (with extreme gravity) that she and her high school sweet heart were my real grandparents – just for fun) called to say hello.  It just so happened that she lived off the next exit.  

We traveled down a narrow country lane till the trees spread out to reveal her house at the end of a gravel road.  We were all pleased to enjoy such an unexpected visit and we learned to play Hand and Foot, a card game that would occupy much of my life thereafter.  

The dress form/mannequin (pictured above) posed in her bathroom, wearing jewlery and a scarf.  I commented on how much I liked it.

Several months later we gathered on the hill (Tazewell, Virginia) for a family cook-out.  When Bobby Anne arrived she had the dress form swinging under her arm.  She decided to give it to me as a sort of belated wedding gift.  

The dress form first lived in Nashville where she witnessed my bagel shop working days and Levon’s first jump into a big pond.  She came with us to Knoxville, first at Sterchi Lofts and then to 1241 Armstrong.

I planned to take her to New York, but there wasn’t room so I placed her on my neighbor’s patio furniture in hopes of finding her a loving foster home.

Julie and Kendall took her in and placed her in the window (to start rumors according to Kendall).  Now she lives with two of the kindest people we know (they once saved Coaltrain’s life).

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

