Skip to content

no room for hipsters

the occupation of Ashley and Levon

Yesterday we assimilated the contents of the Rodeo into our new life.  The night before we had arrived in Harlem around 8:00, and with the help of our roommate and a friend, managed to throw everything in a pile to sit on while we cracked a bottle of champagne given to us by our Knoxville neighbors.  

 

we still have the lightbulb pole

we still have the lightbulb pole

Our place is not like a 1,600 sq ft house, but its no cereal box either.  The three of us share a closet, but it has closets.  My roommate Lynsey is a musician, a pianist even, so my music gear is welcome.  Everything we have here is something we considered carefully, and where we put it now is a further matter of planning.  

Now we plan on getting some jobs.  The plan used to be to sit around online from 14 hours away, then we realized we needed to be here to do it.  In getting here, we spent four months doing random exercises for the soul like breaking fingers and disputing broken lease agreements- things which were not included in the plan.    

My new renters called yesterday and said the AC isn’t working.  I don’t trust anything anymore besides a few close friends and my boy scout knots.  

But one thing you can be sure of: something will happen.  I guess I trust that, too.  John Lennon said “life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans.”  I’ve noticed that planning is a necessary but futile effort.  I have been paralyzed by planning, bitten by not planning, and been well planned only to be ruined by unforeseen detail #37.  I will endeavor, fail, regrip, give, flop, lose, stress, voice, and plot; but I will likely only control a few small details for a few short moments.  Thats why I like to fly by the seat of my pants.  Might as well.  

Harlem, at least where I live, is a tougher place than I am used to.  You can see it on the faces of everyone and in the places along the streets: persistence and strength.  Not that I’ve had an easy or difficult life, probably average, I have been in a persistent state of mind lately.  Cities have a spirit, vibe, or whatever you want to call it.  The persistence part I’m feeling, but I’m not that tough in the Harlem sense of the word.  I planned on learning that here.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

