Skip to content

no room for hipsters

the occupation of Ashley and Levon

home sweet home

home sweet home

Ben Folds has a song entitled Steven’s Last Night in Town from 1997’s Whatever and Ever Amen.  Steven tells everyone he’s moving away and they throw him a big bash.  Only everyday he’s still around and hangs out with someone different to keep his “going away” party going.  Eventually they realize he is never leaving and Ben immortalized him in a song (on a Baldwin Piano). 

Last night our friends took us out to dinner, again.  I’m glad they did, I just couldn’t help but think about the song the whole night.  There are no good byes, right?  Thats true in our case.  We’ve been hiding long enough that people are surprised when they see us.  “Oh, how long are you in town?”  Stop it.  That’s why we’re in hiding.

Today was my second day on my self enforced 9-5 schedule.  It didn’t work.  I had the spring allergy thing going to bed last night and sure enough it knocked me out this morning.  I missed the whole A.M. shift.  Called in sick.  I even gargled salt water in front of the mirror so the boss would know I wasn’t lying. 

Aside: Billy Joel’s New York State of Mind is playing as I’m typing.  “I’m just taking a Greyhound on the Hudson River line….”

I’m trying to dress up this day as much as possible.  It is my last Thursday in Knoxville but I’m in a New York state of mind and that pretty much sums it up.  Ashley, who has an absolute loathing for Billy Joel (and Elton John) due to overexposure (because of me) was singing the song just now.  I saw her.  That means its serious.  We must go.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

