Skip to content

no room for hipsters

the occupation of Ashley and Levon

This has been fun, or at least therapeutic, the last few weeks to be making my contribution to the web.  Most music artists bombard you with unsolicited myspace friend requests.  I decided to bombard you by the power of blog. 

I also told you awhile back that this would be my side of the story.  Ashley has her side as well, and if she wanted to start a blog for retaliation she has always been free to do so.  However, after seeing the vast popularity of the Flight of the Walkers she has been leading me to believe that she might have some blogging abilities.  Party because I was here first, and partly because her blog would inevitably be better than mine,  I have tiptoed around her joining forces with me. 

Her resume is strong.  She majored in English, creative writing to be exact.  She is well read and has excellent insights on important topics such as social justice and education.  I have begun to consider allowing her to share my readership.  I have not yet decided.  She does not share my enthusiasm for Elton John or Billy Joel but she does enjoy the music of Ben Folds.  I can live with that if you can.  

Truth be told, I have gone to her in the past to revise my posts before I published them.  I don’t know if this is cheating, but I majored in Finance where you could get an assignment measured in chart requirements, not words or pages.  I tell you this to inform you that at times you have been exposed to her writing abilities without your knowing.  (This doesn’t mean that anything I have said which you regarded as brilliant you can attribute to her.)   

In addition, she is heavily invested in this story.  She has insights that are good, and I listen to them, really I do, but I think that we need a written “record” of who got who into what.  I told her that we should only buy the Datsun if we committed to selling the Corolla to have money to fix it up.  She agreed, but then backed out on the idea and never followed through, leaving us with a dumb car that would barely run in the driveway.  I wish we were blogging back then, let me tell you, because I’d have all of you as my witness that it wasn’t my fault.  The whole idea was my fault, but not the lack of follow through. 

Another positive thing about Ashley is that she is for the most part carbon neutral.  She never drives and will only take a ride if its on the way.  We buy things at places that plant a lot of trees.  She can’t remember the last time she used styrofoam.  Thumbs up to her for being green.  Get ready for a lot of  green posts, probably a green category, and welcome to my world.  Do we really want her?  Yes.  It will be good for us.   

I have nearly talked myself into letting her on board.  If I don’t hear an overwhelming response from you otherwise, she may post something later today.  I will be reading her carefully for a while to ensure that the essence of this blog remains intact.  A little self promotion is okay but we don’t get shameless here at noroomforhipsters. 

And you don’t have to worry, it doesn’t mean you will be hearing less from me.  We are not going to tag team.  We are going to doubly bombard you from a single source rather than hitting you from two sides.  Levon and Ashley, the one-two punch.  Her paintings are for sale and you, yes you, can buy one.  Never thought of buying a painting before? Its easy.  Give us some money and we’ll show you how easy.  

You can’t buy my work just yet.  Its not finished. I’ll tell you what though, I’ll give you a demo if you ask.  Its the best I can do.  I can’t play for you anywhere either because I have a broken hand.  Send me your address and I’ll send you a demo if you promise to buy a CD when I have one.  Deal?

We are also taking suggestions for her blog name. 

I think that’s all I’ve got today.  Please hope with me that my hand heals and that we don’t have to go to small claims court over the lease agreement.

Tags: , ,

